CARIBBEAN- Six tourism-related entities receive CTO Caribbean sustainable tourism awards


BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, CMC – The Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO) announced the winners of the Caribbean Sustainable Tourism Awards Competition 2022 at a Virtual Awards Function.

Since 2000, CTO has been hosting the Caribbean Sustainable Tourism Awards to coincide with the start of the new millennium in seeking to support and promote sustainable tourism development in the Caribbean.

The Awards aim to identify and showcase sustainable tourism good practices undertaken in CTO member countries in the Caribbean and are open to individual entrepreneurs, destination management organizations, tourism businesses, and others who have developed innovative tourism-related products, services, or experiences and in implementing these initiatives adhere to responsible and sustainable tourism practices.

“At the core of all CTO’s efforts is advocating for the sustainable and inclusive growth of Caribbean tourism, towards a viable, resilient and responsible tourism sector. This requires careful consideration of tourism’s impact on local communities that live, work, and thus support the tourism economy in our many destinations, with equal care and attention to promote conservation and responsible use of our valuable yet fragile natural resources, cultural and heritage assets,” said Neil Walters, Acting Secretary General of the CTO, delivering opening remarks at the Virtual Awards Function.

“The Caribbean Sustainable Tourism Awards provide a platform to recognize the efforts made by the regional tourism sector in advancing the sustainable tourism development agenda and continue to be a vital part of CTO’s efforts to reward sustainability champions in Caribbean tourism. Importantly, the Awards celebrate initiatives that enhance the Caribbean tourism value proposition while positioning the region as the ultimate sustainable tourism zone. In this regard, we commend all 27 applicants that submitted entries for the 2022 Caribbean Sustainable Tourism Awards. You are all winners!”

The 2022 edition of the Awards comprised five categories: The excellence in Sustainable Tourism Award, the Destination Stewardship and Resilience Award, the Tourism Health and Safety Award, the Community-Based Tourism Award, and the Tourism Education and Training Award.

The CTO assembled an Award Selection Committee comprising a cadre of regional and international experts representing various areas of the tourism sector, including tourism development specialists and practitioners, academics, and regional consultants to judge submissions.

Following the review by the distinguished panel of judges, the awards went to the Jade Mountain Resort in St. Lucia for excellence in sustainable tourism; The Bahamas Ministry of Tourism, Investments, and Aviation received the prize for destination stewardship and resilience; the award for community-based tourism went to WHYFARM (We help the youth farm) in Trinidad and Tobago; the award for tourism, education, and training went to the United Nations Development Programme, Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean and Wild Dominique in Dominica; while receiving honorable mention for tourism health and safety was the Native Radiance span and wellness facility in St. Kitts Nevis.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here